#### NORFOLK BOARD OF EDUCATION

## Regular Meeting –June 4, 2024

#### **MINUTES**

**BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT**: Ann DeCerbo, Virginia Coleman-Prisco Amy Bennett,

Jay Whitaker, Walter Godlewski, John DeShazo, Janet Byrne

**BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:** 

**ADMINISTRATION PRESENT:** Mary Beth Iacobelli, Superintendent, Lauren Valentino, Principal

**ADMINISTRATION ABSENT:** 

The meeting was called to order at 6:05 P.M.

## **Sixth Grade Awards Presentation:**

The Michael J. Mulville Memorial Award presented by Principal Lauren Valentino was given to Evie Whitaker.

# **Public Comments:**

Mr. Jamie Santiesteban addressed the board.

Mr. Henry Tirrell addressed the board.

Mr. Michael Listorti addressed the board.

Mrs. Jessica Listorti addressed the board.

<u>Motion by</u> W. Godlewski <u>seconded by</u> A. Bennett to approve the minutes of the May 7, 2024 regular meeting with noted change of special meeting to regular meeting. **Abstaining,** John DeShazo; Janet Byrne; Virginia Coleman-Prisco <u>MOTION APPROVED</u>.

<u>Correspondence:</u> Board Chair Ann DeCerbo informed the board of her resignation effective June 30, 2024. Mrs. DeCerbo said it has been her great honor and privilege to serve on the board and to have had the opportunity to work with many incredibly smart and dedicated people. Mrs. DeCerbo wanted to express her gratitude for the meaningful work they have accomplished together.

It is the Board Chair's understanding that the vice -chair will fill the chair position, the secretary becomes the vice- chair and the board elects a new secretary. The superintendent will confirm that that is a legal succession plan.

A. DeCerbo nominated Donna Rubin to fill the board vacancy.

<u>Motion by</u> Virginia Coleman-Prisco to accept the nomination of Donna Rubin to fill the board vacancy <u>seconded by</u> J. Deshazo <u>UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED</u>

<u>Superintendent's Report</u>: The superintendent shared her report with the board. Dr. Iacobelli shared Botelle School's Increasing Educator Diversity Plan that the state is requiring all schools to have. The superintendent asked the members to review the plan and motion to accept. The superintendent informed the board that EdAdvance would like to increase lunch prices for the 2024-2025 school year and that board approval is needed. After discussing the increase the board asked the superintendent and principal for additional information regarding the number of families this may impact before making any decision.

<u>Motion by V. Coleman-Prisco seconded by</u>. A. DeCerbo to approve the Increasing Educator Diversity Plan. <u>Abstaining</u>, J. Byrne; W. Godlewski

After further discussion the <u>motion does not carry</u>. Board members would like a chance to review the plan closer and will discuss again at the August meeting.

**Principal's Report:** Mrs. Valentino shared her report with the board.

**Committee Reports:** The following committee chairs reported to the board.

Health and Wellness

Communications

PTO

Safety and Security

**EDC** 

## **Unfinished Business:**

Community Outreach Coordinator—the board discussed the coordinator position and still have questions. The decision was made to discuss again at a future meeting.

## **New Business:**

Budget Transfer – vote to approve. <u>Motion by W. Godlewski seconded by</u>. J. DeShazo to approve the budget transfer. <u>UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.</u>

Grant the Superintendent "The Power to Act" through the summer months and to make whatever transfers are necessary to close out the 2023-2024 Fiscal Year.

<u>Motion by V.</u> Coleman-Prisco <u>seconded by</u>. J. Whitaker to Grant the Superintendent "The Power to Act" through the summer months and to make whatever transfers are necessary to close out the 2023-2024 Fiscal Year.

### UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.

Colebrook Consolidation Discussion: The board continued with the discussion of consolidation. After a lengthy discussion the board decided they will revisit the topic again at a later date.

Executive Session to discuss the superintendent's evaluation:

<u>Motion by</u> J. DeShazo <u>seconded by</u>. A. Bennett to enter into executive session @ 8:24 pm **UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.** 

<u>Motion by</u> J. DeShazo <u>seconded by</u>. A. Bennett to exit executive session @ 8:40 pm **UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.** 

<u>Motion by</u> J. DeShazo <u>seconded by</u>. A. Bennett to adjourn the meeting @ 8:41 pm <u>UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.</u>

Meeting adjourned @ 8:41p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Lippincott

Kathy Lippincott,

**Recording Secretary** 

THESE ARE NOT APPROVED MINUTES SUBJECT TO APPROVAL OR DISAPPROVAL AT THE NEXT MEETING.